summer love: amazing skincare ft. under aurora

Happy Wednesday, dear readers! As I’ve mentioned before, it’s Summer Love week, and I’m showcasing things that I’m loving this summer here on the blog.

Back in May, I attended a yoga class benefiting my friends at Aunt Flow! While there, I met Tina from local skincare brand Under Aurora. I loved her setup and ingredients – really beautiful formulations using natural ingredients and eco-friendly packaging. Everything of hers is vegan with the exception of the honey in one of her perfumes.

I purchased a skincare set from her at a bit of a discount due to my blogger status. I’ve been using it quite a bit this summer and I wanted to bring you a review – because we’ve all been missing out if we haven’t tried Under Aurora! This has been my day skincare for a lot of this summer. I use a more Asian Beauty-based routine at night, but these simple and great formulations have really been keeping my skin in great condition this summer.

Under Aurora

First up is the Gentle Facial Cleanser. I was intrigued by the ingredients – aloe vera leaf juice, sunflower oil, rose flower water – just to name a few. This has no added scent, but smells herbal and a bit lavender-y from the ingredients inside. You massage a small amount of this onto a damp face. HOLY HECK, Y’ALL, THIS IS MAGIC. It’s gentle and leaves my skin feeling refreshed and moisturized. It removes my makeup. It doesn’t dry me out and it’s so wonderfully textured it’s an actual joy to use. I have very reactive, breakout-prone skin, and the Gentle Facial Cleanser hasn’t broken me out or exacerbated any of my skin issues.

Follow cleansing with the Balancing Facial Toner. I spritz this on damp, freshly washed skin. It’s very simply formulated – just rose hydrosol, aloe vera, and lavender hydrosol. The rose and lavender give it a nice herbal fragrance and the aloe vera keeps me from getting dry or tight, which some toners totally do to me. This isn’t my favorite product in the line, but it’s a really great way to keep skin feeling moist and refreshed.

I follow up with the Nourishing Facial Oil, then. This stuff is a real treat to use. I have chronically dry skin with a few oily/acne prone patches, and as I’ve said before, my skin is really reactive. I have to be really careful about what oils I’m using on my face as a lot of them will just break me out. What I love about this one is that it’s coconut-free! Coconut oil is used in a lot of skincare, and it just breaks me out. This is jojoba oil, rosewood oil, rosehip seed oil, and helio carrot oil. All of these oils are GREAT for the skin, and won’t make you too oily as they are sebum-balancing. The best part? It sinks in quickly, but the moisture and balancing lasts for me ALL. DAY.

About two to three times a week, I use the Brightening Facial Scrub. It’s got beet sugar, sunflower oil, coconut oil, olive butter, pomegranate extract, shea butter, rosemary, essential oils. The beet sugar in it is so fine, it’s some of the finest-ground exfoliant I’ve ever used. This will buff and polish skin to brightness, but doesn’t overexfoliate or tear skin up. Even though it has coconut oil in it, it hasn’t broken me out! This leaves a nice moisturized feeling along with the soft smoothness of being exfoliated.

You guys, I can’t recommend this enough and it’s even better that she’s local to me. I love supporting local businesses, and Tina’s made it easy with her amazing skincare.

What skincare have you been loving this summer? Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

