i’m with you. 


I posted the below to my Instagram very recently. I wanted to share it here too:

I was initially going to stay off of social media and not make a post about how I’ve been feeling and my thoughts in the aftermath of this contentious election. 

But I can’t sit by and watch my friends, my family, my spiritual village in agony. I see you, and I’m with you. 

To my amazing, strong, and resilient brothers and sisters of color, fearful of what comes next, I see you, and I’m with you. 

To my LGBTQA brothers, sisters, and persons, unsure of their future and their rights down the road, I see you, and I’m with you. 

To my non-Christian folk, from those who get persecuted on their looks alone, to those who feel unsafe talking about their spiritual practice, I see you, and I’m with you. 

This country voted against us. Voted against progress, voted against equality, voted against the greater good. We will now be plunged into an uncertain and rather terrifying future. A platform with a Vice President that supports conversion therapy and barring gays from employment. A platform with a President that railed against everyone “other:” people of color, women, the disabled, non-Christians…the list goes on. In this trying time, we must pause to let ourselves grieve and heal. 

And then we must continue to fight. This is a time of awakening, and a time to stay woke. I see you, and I’m with you. 

Leave a Reply

