book review: ‘good as gone’ by amy gentry

51r-gwwhml

It’s very rare that a mystery or suspense novel keeps me guessing. Amy Gentry’s Good as Gone kept me guessing up until the very end, and even now I’m still in a bit of (really good) disbelief about what I read.

The book starts out from the perspective of 10-year-old Jane, who is witness to her sister Julie’s abduction in 2008. Eight years have passed, and the family has begun to find their new normal without Julie around.

Until Julie shows up on their doorstep.

The family rushes into action, settling into having Julie back home and they realize her reappearance is causing more questions than answers. I don’t want to give too much away, but something is amiss.

This novel’s character development and backstories were AMAZING. I found myself really engrossed in all of the different characters – and if you read it, you’ll know what I mean. It goes to show that we never know what’s going on in someone’s head, and what they’re truly going through. The book also spoke to me about the resilience of family relationships through hardship, and the little secrets and lies we can come to collect.

Fantastic novel, I’m glad I chose it as my Book of the Month selection and I’d wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who will listen. Five stars from me.

Leave a Reply

